Mission Day

Award for Faculty Service

The Saint Xavier University Award recognizes a faculty member whose scholarship, teaching and service consistently reflect the University’s mission “to serve wisely and compassionately in support of human dignity and the common good.”  The award will be presented on Mission Day on Wednesday, March 16, 2016, at 3:30 p.m. in the Fourth Floor Board Room.

About the Award

This award honors a Saint Xavier University faculty member who contributes to the advancement of scholarly research, makes a significant contribution to teaching, addresses substantive issues in society, and fosters positive relationships among Saint Xavier, the broader academic world, and the community at large.


Candidates must be full-time, three-fourths, or half-time teachers at Saint Xavier University.


Who May Nominate

Nominations are encouraged from faculty peers, staff members, students, or persons outside the University community. Potential candidates may nominate themselves.


Previous Recipients

2015 Kathleen McInerney, Ph.D.   1997 Joan L. Klein, R.N., M.S.
2014 Arunas Dagys, D.A.   1996 Avis Clendenen, D.Min., Ph.D.
2013 Peter Hilton, Ph.D.   1995 Nancy Goodfellow, M.S.
2012 William Kresse, J.D.   1994 Sister M. Dominic Merwick, R.S.M., M.A.


Judith Hiltner, Ph.D.   1993 JoAnn Gruca, R.N., Ph.D.
2010 Michael O'Keeffe, Ph.D.   1992 Mary Lederer Roby, Ph.D.
2008-2009 Margaret Bogacz, D.A.   1991 Sister Marion Johnson, R.S.M., M.S.
2007 Michael Flahive, Ph.D.   1990 Darlene O’Callaghan, R.N., M.S.N.
2006 Jan Bickel, D.M.A.   1989 Margaret K. Carroll, Ed.D.
2005 Eileen Quinn Knight, Ph.D.   1988 Faisal Rahman, Ph.D.
2004 Monzurul Hoque, Ph.D.   1987 Joanne Fleming, M.S.
2003 Sandra Burkhardt, Ph.D.   1986 Dorothy M. Binder, Ph.D.
2002 Gail Harris-Schmidt, Ph.D.   1985 Mary Lebold, R.N., Ed.D.
2001 Dale Fast, Ph.D.   1984 Sister M. Denis O’Grady, R.S.M., Ph.D.
2000 Angelo Bonadonna, Ph.D.   1983 Hassan Haddad, Ph.D.
1999 Stanley Boyer, Ph.D.   1982 Sister M. Antonine Ludden, R.S.M.
1998 Julie McNellis, Ph.D.   1981 Lois Neville, M.A.