Saint Xavier University Students

African-American Studies

Contact Us

For additional information about the African-American Studies minor program, please contact one of the following members of the Advisory Council.

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council has been established to help coordinate, develop and administer the program by addressing matters of curriculum, staffing, new course development, program activities and overall direction.

Listed below are faculty members that serve on the Advisory Council for the African-American studies program:

Karen Benjamin
African-American Studies Program Director
Associate Professor, History and Political Science
Office: WAC N-215
Phone: 773-298-3662
Fax: 773-298-3872
Email: benjamin@sxu.edu

Norman Boyer
Associate Professor, Language and Literature
Office: WAC N-427
Phone: 773-298-3233
Fax: 773-298-3226
Email: boyer@sxu.edu

Peter N. Kirstein
Professor, History and Political Science
Office: WAC N-230
Phone: 773-298-3283
Fax: 773-298-3872
Email: kirstein@sxu.edu

Eileen Quinn Knight
Professor, Education
Office: WAC N-211
Phone: 773-298-3211
Fax: 773-298-3872
Email: knight@sxu.edu

Gina Rossetti
Associate Professor, Language and Literature
Office: WAC N-420
Phone: 773-298-3598
Fax: 773-298-3226
Email: rossetti@sxu.edu

Earl Thomas
Associate Professor, Education
Office: Driehaus Center 3911I
Phone: 773-341-5032
Fax: 773-341-5085
Email: thomas@sxu.edu

Kathleen Waller
Associate Professor, Religious Studies
Office: WAC N-412
Phone: 773-298-3444
Fax: 773-779-9061
Email: waller@sxu.edu