Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus Quad

Mathematics Faculty

Mathematics Faculty

Faculty

Arunas Dagys
Office: WAC N-331
Phone: 773-298-3396
Email: dagys@sxu.edu

Arunas Dagys
Professor

  • D.A., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • M.S., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • B.S., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics, multivariable calculus, advanced calculus, probability and statistics, educational technologies, post-secondary mathematics education

Ahmad Mojiri

Office: WAC N-329
Phone: 773-298-5202
Email: mojiri@sxu.edu

Ahmad Mojiri
Associate Professor
Mathematics Department Chair

  • Ph.D., University of Ottawa, Canada, Mathematics
  • M.Sc., Isfahan University of Technology, Iran, Mathematics
  • B.Sc., Isfahan University of Technology, Iran, Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: associative rings and algebras, linear algebra, number theory, history of mathematics, geometry, calculus
 

Jaclyn Murawska

Office: WAC N-328
Phone: 773-298-3398
Email: murawska@sxu.edu

Jaclyn Murawska
Assistant Professor
Coordinator of Mathematics Education

  • Ed.D., Northern Illinois University, Curriculum Leadership, Cognate in Mathematics
  • M.S.T., University of Illinois at Chicago, Teaching of Mathematics
  • B.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Teaching of Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: mathematical knowledge for teaching, constructivism, place value, productive struggle, teachers' beliefs, mathematical habits of mind

Patricia Petkus

Office: WAC N-310
Phone: 773-298-3878
Email: petkus@sxu.edu

Patricia Petkus
Lecturer

  • M.S. Ed., Saint Xavier University, Secondary Education
  • B.S., Northern Illinois University, Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics programs

Nikki Pitcher

Office: WAC N-337
Phone: 773-298-3390
Email: pitcher@sxu.edu


Nikki Pitcher
Lecturer

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • M.S., Loyola University Chicago, Mathematics
  • B.S., Indiana University, Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: cryptology and computational number theory, technology in teaching developmental mathematics, statistics, algebra, calculus

Schreck
Office: WAC N-314
Phone: 773-298-3400
Email: schreck@sxu.edu

Kristen Schreck
Assistant Professor

  • D.A., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • M.S., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • B.S., Illinois Institute of Technology, Electrical Engineering
  • Research and Teaching Interests: differential geometry and its applications, multivariable calculus, linear algebra, geometry, history of mathematics, inquiry-based learning, 3D printing and design in mathematics, science, engineering and everyday life

Abdul-Majid WazWaz

Office: WAC N-323
Phone: 773-298-3397
Email: wazwaz@sxu.edu

Abdul-Majid Wazwaz
Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois At Chicago, Applied Mathematics
  • M.S., Western Illinois University, Macomb, Illinois, Mathematics
  • B.Sc., Cairo University
  • Research and Teaching Interests: applied mathematics, numerical analysis, differential and integral equations, solitary waves theory

Emeritus Faculty

Patricia Army, D.A.
Email: army@sxu.edu
Barb Becker, D.A.
Email: becker@sxu.edu
Susan Beal, Ph.D.
Email: beal@sxu.edu
Margaret Bogacz, D.A.
Email: mmbogacz@sbcglobal.net
Rosalie Fitzpatrick, R.S.M., M.A. Thomas McGannon, Ph.D.

Teaching Assistants

J Clark
Office: WAC S-106
Phone: 773-298-3389
Email: jclark@sxu.edu

James Clark

  • M.S., Governors State University, Mathematics
  • B.A., University of St. Francis, Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: mathematical philosophy, calculus, geometry, transfinite set theory

Marcus Felgenhauer
Office: WAC S-106
Phone: 773-298-3389
Email: felgenhauer@sxu.edu

 

 

Marcus Felgenhauer

  • B.A., Governors State University, Mathematics with focus on Secondary Education
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics, calculus, trigonometry and geometry

K Gawal
Office: WAC S-106
Phone: 773-298-4151
Email: gawel@sxu.edu

Kimberly Gawel

  • M.Ed., Grand Valley State University, Adult and Higher Education with Mathematics Concentration
  • B.A, Western Michigan University, Mathematics Secondary Education
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics, developing mathematical proficiency by teaching through problem solving

Adjunct Faculty

Ronald Cygan
Email: cygan@sxu.edu

Ellen Deinzer
Email: deinzer@sxu.edu

Kwon Hyukse
Email: hyukse@sxu.edu

Rokhak Keshavarzi
Email: keshavarzi@sxu.edu

Michael Leland
Email: leland@sxu.edu

Daniel Marfise
Email: marfise@sxu.edu

Candice Nielsen
Email: nielsen@sxu.edu

Christopher Riola
Email: riola@sxu.edu

Jonathan Schneider
Email: jschneider@sxu.edu

Kurt Sheu
Email: sheu@sxu.edu