Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus College of Arts and Sciences

College of Arts and Sciences

College of Arts and Sciences

Saint Xavier University's College of Arts and Sciences provides over 65 undergraduate majors, minors and programs offered through 14 academic departments. Our programs instill a passion for lifelong learning by encouraging students to pursue a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) or Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in areas where they can develop artistic expression, communication skills, critical thinking and intellectual inquiry. Our programs provide top-quality education with online and classroom instruction from expert faculty.

Academic Departments

Department Chair Email Phone
Art and Design Nathan Peck, MFA peck@sxu.edu 773-298-3876
Biological Sciences Randolph Krohmer, Ph.D. krohmer@sxu.edu 773-298-3527
Chemistry Bindhu Alappat, Ph.D. alappat@sxu.edu 773-298-3518
Communication Brad Mello, Ph.D. mello@sxu.edu 773-298-3372
Communication Sciences and Disorders William Sennett, Ph.D. sennett@sxu.edu 773-298-3567
Computer Science Florence Appel, Ph.D. appel@sxu.edu 773-298-3388
Education Ruth Rohlwing, Ed.D. rohlwing@sxu.edu  773-298-5017
History and Political Science Matthew Costello, Ph.D. costello@sxu.edu 773-298-3284
Language and Literature Angelo Bonadonna, Ph.D. bonadonna@sxu.edu 773-298-3236
Mathematics Ahmad Mojiri, Ph.D. mojiri@sxu.edu 773-298-5202
Music Greg Coutts, Ph.D. coutts@sxu.edu 773-298-3424
Philosophy and Religious Studies Arthur Morton, Ph.D. morton@sxu.edu 773-298-3779
Psychology Timothy Ritchie, Ph.D. ritchie@sxu.edu 773-298-3759
Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice Iman Saca, Ph.D. saca@sxu.edu 773-298-3554

Academic Programs

Program Director/Coordinator Email Phone
African-American Studies Karen Benjamin, Ph.D. aas@sxu.edu 773-298-3662
Environmental and Sustainability Studies Christopher Appelt, Ph.D. ess@sxu.edu 773-298-3391
General Education Michael O'Keeffe, Ph.D. okeeffe@sxu.edu 773-298-3394
Gerontology Studies Diane Heliker, Ph.D. heliker@sxu.edu 773-298-3722
Honors Mary Beth Tegan, Ph.D. tegan@sxu.edu 773-298-3240
Latino/Latin American Studies Olga Vilella, Ph.D. vilella@sxu.edu 773-298-3274
Middle Eastern Studies Iman Saca, Ph.D. mes@sxu.edu 773-298-3554
Physical Education Katherine DeGaetano, M.Ed. degaetano@sxu.edu 773-298-3128
Pre-Health Tatiana Tatum-Parker, Ph.D. tatum@sxu.edu 773-298-3408
Pre-Law Matthew Costello, Ph.D. prelaw@sxu.edu 773-298-3284
Women and Gender Studies Tatiana Tatum-Parker, Ph.D. wgst@sxu.edu 773-298-3408

Financial Aid

The College of Arts and Sciences offers scholarship and grant opportunities for students pursuing nearly any major or degree. In the scholarship directory, you are able to search for scholarships based on your academic year, student type or major. Saint Xavier also provides resources for scholarships that are offered outside of the University on the Outside and Other Scholarships page. Please visit Financial Aid for more information concerning FAFSA and your financial aid eligibility.