Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus

Meet Our Faculty

Meet Our Faculty

The Department of Education offers quality education programs, grounded in the liberal arts tradition, which prepare students for careers in the field of education. Its faculty provide an enriched, supportive learning environment that promotes the attainment of knowledge and expression.

Please take a moment to meet our talented faculty.

carroll
Office: WAC G-204
Phone: 773-298-3212
Email: carroll@sxu.edu

Margaret Carroll
Professor

  • Ed.D., Loyola University of Chicago, Curriculum and Instruction
  • M.A., Chicago State University, Learning Disabilities
  • B.A., University of Illinois in Urbana, Elementary Education and Special Education
Office: Driehaus Center 3911A
Phone: 773-298-3887
Email: george@sxu.edu

Anne George
Associate Professor

  • Ph.D., Utah State University, Family, Consumer and Human Development
  • M.S., Utah State University, Family and Human Development
hilton
Office: WAC G-212
Phone: 773-298-3487
Email: hilton@sxu.edu

Peter Hilton
Associate Professor

  • Ph.D., UIC, Curriculum Design
  • M.A.T., National-Louis University, Teaching and Reading
  • M.A., University of Oregon, Individualized Studies
  • B.A., San Jose State University, Epistemology
Office: Driehaus Center 3917B
Phone: 773-298-3889
Email: joyce@sxu.edu

M. Tara Joyce
Associate Professor

  • Ed.D., Harvard University, Human Development and Reading
  • M.S., Syracuse University, Reading Education
knight
Office: WAC G-210
Phone: 773-298-3211
Email: knight@sxu.edu

Eileen Quinn Knight
Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Educational Psychology
  • M.S., DePaul University in Chicago, Counseling Psychology
mcinerney
Office: Driehaus Center 3925D
Phone: 773-298-3591
Email: mcinerney@sxu.edu

Kathleen McInerney
Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Iowa, Language, Literacy and Culture
  • M.A., SUNY Fredonia, English
reinhart
Office: Driehaus Center 3925B/ WAC G-211
Phone: 773-298-5030
Email: jreinhart@sxu.edu

Julie Reinhart
Professor

  • Ph.D., Indiana University in Bloomington, Instructional Systems Technology
  • M.Ed., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Curriculum and Instruction
rohlwing
Office: WAC G-213
Phone: 773-298-5017
Email: rohlwing@sxu.edu

Ruth Rohlwing
Associate Professor
Education Chair

  • Ed.D., Northern Illinois University, Reading
  • M.A., West Virgina University, Curriculum and Instruction
spelman
Office: WAC G-209
Phone: 773-298-3435
Email: spelman@sxu.edu

Maureen Spelman
Associate Professor

  • Ed.D., Loyola University Chicago, Curriculum and Instruction
  • M.S., Loyola University Chicago, Curriculum and Instruction
earl thomas
Office: Driehaus Center 3911i
Phone: 773-298-5032
Email: thomas@sxu.edu

Earl Thomas
Associate Professor

  • Ed.D., Kansas State University-Manhattan, Kan., Adult Education
  • M.A., University of Missouri-Kansas City, Adult Education
  • B.A., University of Missouri-Kansas City, Psychology/Sociology