News Archive

News Story


Saint Xavier University recognizes outstanding students

Students receive awards for their achievements

Chicago (May 15, 2006) – Saint Xavier University recently recognized several of its students in the areas of scholarship and service during the 2005-06 academic year. The following students received awards for their outstanding achievements:

• Karen Lavin, of Palos Heights; Megan Murphy, of Chicago Ridge; and Andrea Wydra, of Midlothian, received the Dean’s Fellowship. The Dean’s Fellowship is awarded to students who have completed the first semester of junior coursework and shown resourcefulness in their approach to ideas and questions and sustained a high level of performance and high academic record.

• Luis Lopez, of Chicago’s Hyde Park neighborhood, received the Sister Mary Josetta Butler Award. This scholarship is awarded to a senior who demonstrates progress toward the ideal of the liberal education of the Christian person and shows promise to make that education fruitful into a career of service.

• Sean Gross, of Goleta, Calif., received the Student Laureate of the Lincoln Academy of Illinois Award for academics and extracurricular activities. The governor of Illinois presents this at a ceremony held in the House of Representatives of the Illinois State Capitol in Springfield. Gross also received the Outstanding Arts and Sciences Undergraduate Award for outstanding scholarship and service to SXU and the community.

• Sharon Watts, of Evergreen Park, received the Outstanding Arts and Sciences Graduate Award. She was selected on the basis of outstanding scholarship, service to SXU and the community, and excellent clinical performance.

• Linda Meinke, of Homewood, received the Wall Street Journal Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award for demonstrating scholarship, leadership and initiative in both the Graham School of Management and community activities.

• Susanna Harper, of Palos Hills, received the J.K. Hwang Outstanding Graduate Student Award for academic excellence and service to the community.

• Karen O’Brien, of Orland Park, received the Outstanding School of Nursing Graduate Student Award based on academic achievement and service to the University and community.

• Gwendolyn Oglesby-Odom, of Chicago’s West Pullman neighborhood, received the Outstanding School of Nursing Undergraduate Student Award based on academic achievement and service to the University and community.

• Robyn Dudzik, of Evergreen Park, and Dan Hopkins, of Palos Heights, each received the Excellence in Writing Undergraduate Award for outstanding papers written during the current academic year.

• Donna Rehm, of Orland Park, and Tina Murphy, of Tinley Park, each received the Excellence in Writing Graduate Award for outstanding papers written during the current academic year.

• Joanna Beituni, of Oak Lawn, received the Saint Catherine Medal. Kappa Gamma Pi awards the medal for outstanding service to the student’s college and the best record for progressive achievement.

Saint Xavier University is a private, coeducational institution serving more than 5,700 students with high-quality academic programs. It offers 36 undergraduate degree majors and 32 graduate program options in five schools: School of Arts and Sciences, School of Education, Graham School of Management, School of Nursing and School of Continuing and Professional Studies. With campuses in Chicago’s Mount Greenwood neighborhood and Orland Park, the University offers personalized education that emphasizes challenging undergraduate, graduate and professional programs of study.   


Saint Xavier University, a Catholic institution inspired by the heritage of the Sisters of Mercy, educates men and women to search for truth, to think critically, to communicate effectively, and to serve wisely and compassionately in support of human dignity and the common good.

Saint Xavier University Media Relations: 773-298-3325
3700 West 103rd Street, Chicago Ill. 60655 * 18230 Orland Parkway, Orland Park, Ill. 60467
online faculty expert guide: www.sxu.edu/relations/faculty_experts.asp