News Archive

News Story


Saint Xavier University's School of Education Scholarship Awards

Ten local women receive scholarships

Chicago (March 14, 2007) – Ten local women have been awarded scholarships by Saint Xavier University’s School of Education.

Beverly Gulley, dean of Saint Xavier University’s School of Education, recently announced the winners of the 2007 Binder, Davis, Gallagher, Leake and Malin Scholarships. These five scholarships were funded by donors who wanted to recognize the qualities exemplified by the people for whom the scholarships are named: Dr. Dorothy Binder; Dorothy Davis; Elaine Gallagher; Dr. Lloyd Leake; and Julius and Catherine Malin. 

“I am very impressed with the caliber of the students who apply for our scholarships. Thanks to the generosity of our donors, we can assist students who embody the themes of our School of Education conceptual framework – scholars, leaders, lifelong learners and reflective professionals. We hope to expand the scholarship program to benefit even more students in the future,” Gulley said.  

Jennifer Anderson, of Hazel Crest, was awarded the Dr. Dorothy Binder Endowed Graduate Scholarship, which provides tuition for one course at Saint Xavier University. Anderson, a graduate student in the counseling program, was recognized by the scholarship committee for her commitment to excellence, hospitality, compassion and service to others.

Ghada Ali and Jennifer Volpe were recognized as Binder Scholars for the 2007 award. Ali, of Palos Hills, is a graduate student in the secondary education mathematics program and was recognized for her service and willingness to share experiences of multiculturalism. Volpe, of Monee, is a graduate student in the reading program and was described by the scholarship committee as exhibiting integrity, compassion and hospitality. 

Shorewood resident Sara Koncel was awarded the Dorothy Ritter Davis Scholarship, a $6,600 tuition grant funded by the estate of alumna Dorothy Davis. Koncel is an early childhood education major and active in the University Concert Band and Flute Choir. Her work in a preschool demonstrates her appreciation for diversity and the uniqueness of every child. 

Reem Sayes, a resident of Oak Lawn, was awarded the Elaine Gallagher Scholarship, a $2,700 tuition grant funded by the estate of alumna Elaine Gallagher and donations made in her memory. Sayes is a secondary education and biology major and volunteers in the community packaging and distributing food and school bags to needy families. The scholarship committee recognized her enthusiasm for teaching science, love of learning and demonstration of service. 

Tiffany Durham, of Chicago’s West Pullman neighborhood, was awarded the Dr. Lloyd Leake Scholarshp, a $4,000 tuition grant funded by the family and friends of the late Dr. Leake for an African-American undergraduate student. This is the second year that Durham, an elementary education major, has received the Leake Scholarship. She volunteers in her community, including establishing a youth book club in her church community and working on breast cancer and adopt-a-child fundraising activities. The scholarship committee recognized her commitment to excellence, hospitality, determination and compassion. 

Jamea Elzy and Rachelle M. Ashford were recognized as Leake Scholars. Elzy, of Hazel Crest, a secondary education and English major, developed an informal after-school tutoring program. Ashford, of Chicago’s Beverly neighborhood, an elementary education major, was described as enthusiastic, energetic and compassionate.

Kelly Briscoe, of Chicago’s Mount Greenwood neighborhood, was awarded the Julius and Catherine Heerey Malin Scholarship, a $2,600 tuition grant funded by the estate of Helen Heerey. A graduate student in the counseling program, Briscoe works as a high school teacher, counselor and mentor to freshman students, and as a graduate assistant in the SXU STAR Learning 
Academy and School of Education office. Her volunteer service to the Avon Foundation for breast cancer research, Make-A-Wish Foundation and the Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Seminars exemplify the qualities of excellence, service and integrity.

Joy Martin, of Midlothian, was recognized as a Malin Scholar. Martin, a student in the individualized graduate education program, was described as exhibiting a high standard of character and integrity.

Students are encouraged to submit entries for next year’s scholarships. Applications will be available in October 2007. For more information about Saint Xavier’s School of Education or the scholarships, please call (773) 298-3177 or visit the School of Education Web site at www.sxu.edu/soe/.


Founded by the Sisters of Mercy in 1846, Saint Xavier University was the first Mercy college in the United States and is Chicago’s oldest Catholic university. Serving approximately 5,700 students at its campuses in Chicago, Orland Park and its Loop location, the University offers 35 undergraduate majors; more than 40 graduate program options in arts and sciences, business, education and nursing; and a variety of program options in continuing and professional studies. Recognizing Saint Xavier’s excellence in education, U.S. News & World Report has ranked SXU consistently among the Best Colleges in the Midwest.

Saint Xavier University Media Relations: 773-298-3937
3700 West 103rd Street, Chicago Ill. 60655 * 18230 Orland Parkway, Orland Park, Ill. 60467
online faculty expert guide: www.sxu.edu/relations/faculty_experts.asp