Professor Nathan Peck at Saint Xavier University

Art and Design Department

Art and Design Faculty

Faculty

Stephen Flemister

Office: VAC A-215
Phone: 773-298-3085
Email: flemister@sxu.edu

Stephen Flemister
Assistant Professorial Lecturer, Graphic Design/Photography

Stephen Flemister teaches courses in Digital Imagery, Digital Photography and Web Design courses. Flemister has received his Master of Fine Arts from the School of the Art Institute in Interdisciplinary Arts and his Bachelor of Arts in Interactive Arts and Media from Columbia College Chicago. He has been an educator throughout his experience in advertising, while working as a studio artist, with exhibitions nationally.

Jennifer Fuller

Office: VAC A-218
Phone: 773-298-3088
Email: jfuller@sxu.edu

Jennifer Fuller
M.S., Assistant Professorial Lecturer, Graphic Design

Jennifer Fuller teaches digital art courses at Saint Xavier University. Her Master of Science degree in Digital Cinema and Animation from DePaul University followed a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Visual Communication and Design from the University of Dayton. She has a strong passion for teaching, graphic design and motion design and likes to implement that drive and love of design in her courses. She has several years of teaching experience at area colleges and universities, both in online classes and on campus, and she has held freelance positions in design, animation and photography.

Nathan Peck
Office: VAC A-221
Phone: 773-298-3876
Email: peck@sxu.edu

Nathan Peck
MFA, Associate Professor, Department Chair

Nathan Peck is a digital art professor at Saint Xavier University and maintains a relentless exhibition schedule in a wide range of art media. After graduating from the Intermedia program at the University of Iowa, he has since employed the philosophy of cross-media-hybridization, especially in terms of site-specific and process-based approaches to art making. Peck has been an active member of many collaborative and performance art groups in Chicago and is a co-founder of the Chicago Art Department.

Cathie Ruggie Saunders
Office: VAC A-220
Phone: 773-298-3087
Email: saunders@sxu.edu

Cathie Ruggie Saunders
MFA, M.A., Professor, Gallery Director

Cathie Ruggie Saunders teaches courses in Printmaking, Drawing, Artists Books, Children's Book Illustration and the capstone Art and Design thesis course Senior Seminar each spring. She is the Director of the SXU Gallery and the VAC Student Gallery. Her own artistic practice focuses upon the production of hand-printed, illustrated and bound limited edition artists' books under the imprint of The Hosanna Press. In 2013 she co-authored "For the Love of Letterpress, A Printing Handbook for Instructors and Students," published by Bloomsbury of London, and selected as a text in several letterpress curriculum across the country. A second, revised and expanded edition has just been released in August 2019.

Adjunct Faculty

Marie Cassidy
Office: VAC A-216
Phone: 773-298-3080
Email: cassidy@sxu.edu

Gabriel Villa
Office: VAC A-217
Phone: 773-298-3083
Email: villa@sxu.edu

Nolan Baumgartner
Office: VAC/3D C103
Email: baumgartner@sxu.edu

John Gutierrez
Office: VAC A-217
Email: jgutierrez@sxu.edu

Gretchen Hasse
Office: VAC A-217/Warde Academic Center
Email: hasse@sxu.edu

Deborah Weiss
Office: VAC A-216
Email: dweiss@sxu.edu

James Vanden Bosch
Office: VAC A-216
Email: vandenbosch@sxu.edu

Staff

William Avorio
Manager - Studio Lab
Office: A-225
Phone: 773-341-5739
Email: avorio@sxu.edu

Jeanne Hallaren
Department Assistant
Office: B-202
Phone: 773-298-3081
Email: hallaren@sxu.edu