Language and Literature Faculty

Meet Our Language and Literature Faculty

Get to know the experienced faculty that form the Language and Literature Department!

Faculty

Angelo Bonadonna's Headshot
Office: WAC N-425
Phone: 773-298-3236
Email: bonadonna@sxu.edu

Angelo Bonadonna
Associate Professor, Department Chair

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Language, Literature, and Rhetoric
  • M.A., University of Illinois at Chicago, English
  • B. A., Loyola University, Chicago, English
boyer
Office: WAC N-427
Phone: 773-298-3233
Email: boyer@sxu.edu

Norman Boyer
Associate Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Denver, Theatre History
  • M.A., University of Denver, Theatre
  • B.A., Millikin University, History and Speech
Diego Espiña-Barros
Office: WAC N-419
Phone: 773-298-3234
Email: espinabarros@sxu.edu

Diego Espiña-Barros
Assistant Professorial Lecturer

  • Ph.D., Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain. Co-advised: Universidad Carlos III, Madrid, Spain.
  • M.A., Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI
  • B.A., Universidad Carlos III, Madrid, Spain, Journalism
  • B.A., Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain, Hispanic Philology
gutowski
Office: WAC N-323
Phone: 773-298-3271
Email: gutowski@sxu.edu

John Gutowski
Professor

  • Ph.D., Indiana University, Folklore
  • M.A., Wayne State University, English
  • B.A., Wayne State University, French and English
Karen Kaiser Lee
Office: WAC N-429
Phone: 773-298-3230
Email: kaiserlee@sxu.edu

Karen Kaiser Lee
Assistant Professor

  • Ph.D., Purdue University, English Rhetoric and Composition
  • M.A., Florida State University, English
  • B.A., University of Florida, English
karim
Office: WAC N-415
Phone: 773-298-3719
Email: karim@sxu.edu

Aisha Karim
Associate Professor

  • Ph.D., Duke University
Robert Mellin
Office: WAC N-221
Phone: 773-298-3460
Email: mellin@sxu.edu

Robert Mellin
Assistant Professorial Lecturer

rossetti
Office: WAC N-214
Phone: 773-298-3598
Email: rossetti@sxu.edu

Gina Rossetti
Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Tennessee, English
  • M.A., Northeastern University, English (Honors)
  • B.A., Regis College, English & Political Science (Summa Cum Laude)
tegan
Office: WAC N-227
Phone: 773-298-3240
Email: tegan@sxu.edu

Mary Beth Tegan
Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Southern California, English
Professor Olga Vilella
Office: WAC N-417
Phone: 773-298-3274
Email: vilella@sxu.edu

Olga Vilella
Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago, Romance Languages and Literatures
  • M.S., Columbia University, Journalism
  • A.B., Vassar College, History

Adjunct Faculty

Romana Amato, M.A.
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: amato@sxu.edu

David Beran, Ph.D.
Office: WAC N-426
Phone: 773-298-3237
Email: beran@sxu.edu

Jennele Berry, M.A.
Office: WAC N-223
Phone: 773-298-3204
Email: jberry@sxu.edu

Barbara Brown, M.A.
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: bbrown@sxu.edu

Juanita Calvo, M.A.
Office: WAC N424
Phone: 773-298-3868
Email: calvo@sxu.edu

Margaret Collins, Ph.D.
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: mcollins@sxu.edu

Juanita Del Toro, M.A.
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: deltoro@sxu.edu

Mia Garrison, M.A.
Office: WAC N-426
Phone: 773-298-3237
Email: mgarrison@sxu.edu

Anna Gasienica-Byrcyn, Ph.D.
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: byrcyn@sxu.edu

Thomas Haffner, M.A.
Office: WAC N-420
Phone: 773-298-3868
Email: haffner@sxu.edu

Angela Henry, B.A.
Office: WAC N-420
Phone: 773-298-3868
Email: ahenry@sxu.edu

Romana Hinton, M.A., M.S.
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: hinton@sxu.edu

Christopher Hopper, M.A.
Office: WAC N-421
Phone: 773-298-3814
Email: hopper@sxu.edu

Katrina Kemble, M.A.
Office: WAC N-421
Phone: 773-298-5239
Email: kemble@sxu.edu

Alex S. Kurczaba, Ph.D.
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: kurczaba@sxu.edu

Martha Fabiola Marolda, M.A.
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: marolda@sxu.edu

Carol Medrano, M.A.
Office: WAC N-424
Phone: 773-298-3038
Email: medrano@sxu.edu

Samuel Rush, M.A.
Office: WAC N-316
Phone: 773-298-3231
Email: srush@sxu.edu

Elizabeth Stewart, Ph.D.
Office: WAC N-428
Phone: 773-298-3239
Email: estewart@sxu.edu

Maha Sweis-Dababneh, Ph.D.
Online Course
Email: sweisdababneh@sxu.edu

Breeanna Villalpando, M.A.
Office: WAC N-420
Phone: 773-298-3325
Email: villalpando@sxu.edu