Mathematics Faculty

Mathematics Faculty

Faculty

Asmah Abdullah
Office: WAC N-329
Phone: 773-298-5202
Email: abdallah@sxu.edu

Asmah Abdallah
Lecturer

  • M.S., Governors State University, Mathematics
  • B.S., Governors State University, Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interest: college algebra, trigonometry, developmental mathematics, history of mathematics, math for teachers, inquiry-based learning, and STEM

Arunas Dagys
Office: WAC N-331
Phone: 773-298-3396
Email: dagys@sxu.edu

Arunas Dagys
Professor

  • D.A., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • M.S., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • B.S., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics, multivariable calculus, advanced calculus, probability and statistics, educational technologies, post-secondary mathematics education

Kimberly GawelOffice: WAC N-310
Phone: 773-298-4151
Email: gawel@sxu.edu

Kimberly Anne Gawel
Developmental Mathematics Instructor Specialist

  • M.Ed., Grand Valley State University, Adult and Higher Education with Mathematics Concentration
  • B.A, Western Michigan University, Mathematics Secondary Education
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics, developing mathematical proficiency by teaching through problem solving

Kristen Schreck
Office: WAC N-314
Phone: 773-298-3400
Email: schreck@sxu.edu

Kristen Schreck
Associate Professor, Department Chair

  • D.A., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • M.S., University of Illinois at Chicago, Pure Mathematics
  • B.S., Illinois Institute of Technology, Electrical Engineering
  • Research and Teaching Interests: multivariable calculus, applied linear algebra, modern geometry, history of mathematics, inquiry-based learning, mastery-based testing, and SoTL. Dr. Schreck has published on the historical and mathematical evolution of differential geometry. She develops 3D printing projects and creative productions to illustrate complex topics in mathematics, art, and science. She has been an Ultimaker Education 3D Printing Pioneer since 2016.

Kurt Sheu
Office: WAC N-328
Phone: 773-298-3398
Email: sheu@sxu.edu

Chyonghwakurt Sheu
Assistant Professorial Lecturer

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Statistics
  • M.S., Eastern Illinois University, Mathematics
  • B.S., Kaohsiung Normal University, Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: probability and statistics, actuarial science, calculus, linear algebra

Abdul-Majid WazWaz

Office: WAC N-323
Phone: 773-298-3397
Email: wazwaz@sxu.edu

Abdul-Majid Wazwaz
Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois At Chicago, Applied Mathematics
  • M.S., Western Illinois University, Macomb, Illinois, Mathematics
  • B.Sc., Cairo University
  • Research and Teaching Interests: applied mathematics, numerical analysis, differential and integral equations, solitary waves theory

Teaching Assistants

Marcus Felgenhauer
Office: WAC N-320
Phone: 773-298-3389
Email: felgenhauer@sxu.edu

Marcus Felgenhauer

  • B.A., Governors State University, Mathematics/Secondary Education
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics, calculus, trigonometry and geometry
Stanislava MarrsOffice: WAC N-320
Phone: 773-298-3389
Email: marrs@sxu.edu

Stanislava Marrs

  • B.A., Governors State University, Mathematics/Secondary Education
  • Research and Teaching Interests: problem solving, procedural fluency, STEAM
Paloma Salcedo
Office: WAC N-320
Phone: 773-298-3389
Email: psalcedo@sxu.edu

Paloma Salcedo

  • B.A., Saint Xavier University, Mathematics/Secondary Education
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics, geometry, history of math, and inquiry-based learning

Adjunct Faculty

Tawfiq Abusara
Email: abusara@sxu.edu

  • M.S., DePaul University, Applied Mathematics, Concentration: Actuarial Science
  • M.S., University of Alabama in Hunstville, Mathematics
  • B.S., Yarmouk University, Irbid, Jordan, Mathematics
Ron Cygan
Email: cygan@sxu.edu

Ellen Deinzer
Email: deinzer@sxu.edu

  • M.S., Loyola University, Mathematics
  • B.S., Lewis University, Mathematics

Michael Ellis
Email: ellis@sxu.edu

  • M.A., DePaul University, Mathematics Education
  • B.Sc. (Hons), University of Surrey England UK, Mathematics and Economics

Karen Hernandez
Email: khernandez@sxu.edu

Jason King
Email: jking@sxu.edu

Hyukse Kwon
Email: kwon@sxu.edu

  • M.Ed., Kookmin University, Mathematics Education
  • B.A., University of Texas at Austin, Mathematics

Rokhak Keshavarzi
Email: keshavarzi@sxu.edu

Elijah Miller
Email: emiller@sxu.edu

Christopher Riola
Email: riola@sxu.edu

  • M.S., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics/Statistics
  • B.S., Saint Xavier University, Mathematics

Emeritus Faculty

Patricia Army, D.A.
Email: army@sxu.edu
Margaret Bogacz, D.A.
Email: mmbogacz@sbcglobal.net
Susan Beal, Ph.D.
Email: beal@sxu.edu
Rosalie Fitzpatrick, R.S.M., M.A.
Barb Becker, D.A.
Email: becker@sxu.edu
Patricia Petkus, M.S. Ed.
Email: petkus@sxu.edu