Saint Xavier University Music Department

Music Faculty

Music Faculty

The Saint Xavier University Music Department offers quality music programs, grounded in the liberal arts tradition, which prepare music students for careers in the field of music. Please take a moment to meet our talented faculty.

Brett Baxter
Email: baxter@sxu.edu

Brett Baxter
Percussion

  • M.A., Northwestern University, Percussion Performance and Literature
  • B.A., University of Missouri-Kansas City, Percussion Performance

Jan Bickel
Email: bickel@sxu.edu

Jan Bickel
Vocal Faculty Emerita

  • D.M.A., American Conservatory of Music in Chicago, Vocal Performance
  • M.M., Chicago Conservatory of Music, Vocal Performance
  • B.A., St. Mary's College at Notre Dame, Music

Heather Carlasare
Email:
carlasare@sxu.edu

Heather Carlasare
Violin and Viola

  • M.M., Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, Viola
  • B.M., The Manhattan School of Music, Viola

Irene Claude
Email: claude@sxu.edu

Irene Claude
Flute

  • M.M., DePaul University
  • B.M.A., University of Michigan in Ann Arbor

Greg Coutts
Office: WAC G-102B
Phone: 773-298-3424
Email: coutts@sxu.edu

Greg Coutts
Director of Theoretical Studies, Department Chair

  • Ph.D., Northwestern University, Evanston, Music Theory
  • M.M., Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, Music Theory/Composition and Vocal Performance
  • B.A., West Liberty State University, Music Education

Gary English Headshot

Office: WAC G-114
Phone: 773-298-3422
Email: genglish@sxu.edu

Gary English
Director of Instrumental Ensembles, Horn

  • D.M.A., Northwestern University
  • M.M., Louisiana State University, Wind Conducting
  • B.M., James Madison University

Monica Kropidlowski
Email: kropidlowski@sxu.edu

Monica Kropidlowski
Piano

  • M.M., Northwestern University, Piano Performance
  • B.M., Rosary College (Dominican University), Piano Performance

Adam Larison
Email: larison@sxu.edu

Adam Larison
Music History and Guitar

  • D.M.A, Eastman School of Music, Guitar Performance and Literature
  • M.M., San Francisco Conservatory of Music, Guitar Performance
  • B.M., Florida State University, Guitar Performance
  • Performer's Diploma, Academia Musicale Chigiana

Patricia LeeOffice: WAC G-110
Phone: 773-298-3426
Email: plee@sxu.edu

Patricia Lee
Director of Keyboard Studies

  • M.M., DePaul University, Chicago, Piano Performance

Emily Mantell
Email:
mantell@sxu.edu

Emily Mantell
Cello

  • B.M., Chicago Musical College at Roosevelt University, Cello Performance

Andrew McManus
Email: mcmanus@sxu.edu

Andrew McManus
Aural Skills and Composition

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago, Composition
  • M.A., Eastman School of Music, Composition
  • B.A., Yale University, Music (Intensive)

Stacy McMichael
Email: mcmichael@sxu.edu

Stacy McMichael
String Bass

  • M.M., University of Miami, Jazz Bass & Pedagogy
  • B.M., University of Nebraska at Omaha, Double Bass

Tom McNichols
Office: WAC G-108
Phone: 773-298-3425 Email: tmcnichols@sxu.edu

Tom McNichols
Director of Vocal Activities, Applied Voice

  • M.M., North Park University, Vocal Performance
  • B.M., Saint Xavier University, Vocal Performance and Music Education

Lara Regan
Email: regan@sxu.edu

Lara Regan
Clarinet and Saxophone

  • M.M., Northwestern University, Saxophone Performance
  • B.A., Saint Xavier University, Music Education and Saxophone Performance

Jacinda Ripley

Email: ripley@sxu.edu

Jacinda Ripley
Trumpet

  • M.M., Northwestern University, Trumpet Performance
  • B.A., Eastman School of Music, Trumpet Performance

Shawn Salmon
Office: WAC G-106
Phone: 773-298-3420
Email: salmon@sxu.edu

Shawn Salmon
Director of Jazz Studies, Guitar

  • D.A., Ball State University, Guitar Performance and Composition
  • M.M., DePaul University, Jazz Studies
  • B.A., Eastern Illinois University, Jazz Studies

Dan Sartori
Email: sartori@sxu.edu

Dan Sartori
Low Brass

  • M.M., Indiana University, Trombone Performance
  • B.M., University of Wisconsin-Madison, Music Education

Anna Siwiec-SitkowskaEmail: siwiecsitkowska@sxu.edu

Anna Siwiec-Sitkowska
Soprano

  • M.M., State University of New York at Binghamton, Opera Performance
  • M.M., Bydgoszcz Music Conservatory, Poland

Michael Stewart
Email: mstewart@sxu.edu

Michael Stewart
Music Theory

  • D.M.A., University of South Carolina, Music Composition
  • M.M., Eastern Illinois University, Trumpet Performance
  • B.A., University of Akron, Jazz Studies

Paullette Velazquez
Email: pvelazquez@sxu.edu

Paulette Velazquez
Horn

  • M.M., San Francisco Conservatory of Music, Horn Performance
  • B.M., University of Illinois, Horn Performance