Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus Quad

Mathematics Faculty

Mathematics Faculty

Faculty

Arunas Dagys
Office: WAC N-331
Phone: 773-298-3396
Email: dagys@sxu.edu

Arunas Dagys
Professor
Mathematics Department Chair

  • D.A., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • M.S., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • B.S., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics, multivariable calculus, advanced calculus, probability and statistics, educational technologies, post-secondary mathematics education

K Gawal

Office: WAC S-106
Phone: 773-298-4151
Email: gawel@sxu.edu

Kimberly Anne Gawel
Lecturer
Developmental Education Coordinator

  • M.Ed., Grand Valley State University, Adult and Higher Education with Mathematics Concentration
  • B.A, Western Michigan University, Mathematics Secondary Education
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics, developing mathematical proficiency by teaching through problem solving

Jaclyn Murawska

Office: WAC N-328
Phone: 773-298-3398
Email: murawska@sxu.edu

Jaclyn Murawska
Associate Professor
Coordinator of Mathematics Education

  • Ed.D., Northern Illinois University, Curriculum Leadership, Cognate in Mathematics
  • M.S.T., University of Illinois at Chicago, Teaching of Mathematics
  • B.S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Teaching of Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: mathematical knowledge for teaching, constructivism, place value, productive struggle, teachers' beliefs, mathematical habits of mind


Email: nielsen@sxu.edu

Candice Nielsen
Lecturer

Nikki Pitcher

Office: WAC N-337
Phone: 773-298-3390
Email: pitcher@sxu.edu


Nikki Pitcher
Assistant Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • M.S., Loyola University Chicago, Mathematics
  • B.S., Indiana University, Mathematics
  • Research and Teaching Interests: cryptology and computational number theory, technology in teaching developmental mathematics, statistics, algebra, calculus

Schreck
Office: WAC N-314
Phone: 773-298-3400
Email: schreck@sxu.edu

Kristen Schreck
Associate Professor

  • D.A., University of Illinois at Chicago, Mathematics
  • M.S., University of Illinois at Chicago, Pure Mathematics
  • B.S., Illinois Institute of Technology, Electrical Engineering
  • Research and Teaching Interests: differential geometry and its applications, multivariable calculus, linear algebra, geometry, history of mathematics, inquiry-based learning, 3D printing and design in mathematics, science, engineering and everyday life

Abdul-Majid WazWaz

Office: WAC N-323
Phone: 773-298-3397
Email: wazwaz@sxu.edu

Abdul-Majid Wazwaz
Professor

  • Ph.D., University of Illinois At Chicago, Applied Mathematics
  • M.S., Western Illinois University, Macomb, Illinois, Mathematics
  • B.Sc., Cairo University
  • Research and Teaching Interests: applied mathematics, numerical analysis, differential and integral equations, solitary waves theory

Emeritus Faculty

Patricia Army, D.A.
Email: army@sxu.edu
Barb Becker, D.A.
Email: becker@sxu.edu
Susan Beal, Ph.D.
Email: beal@sxu.edu
Margaret Bogacz, D.A.
Email: mmbogacz@sbcglobal.net
Rosalie Fitzpatrick, R.S.M., M.A. Thomas McGannon, Ph.D.
Patricia Petkus, M.S. Ed.
Email: petkus@sxu.edu
 

Teaching Assistant

Marcus Felgenhauer
Office: WAC S-106
Phone: 773-298-3389
Email: felgenhauer@sxu.edu

Marcus Felgenhauer

  • B.A., Governors State University, Mathematics with focus on Secondary Education
  • Research and Teaching Interests: developmental mathematics, calculus, trigonometry and geometry

Adjunct Faculty

Asmah Abdallah
Email: abdallah@sxu.edu

Ron Cygan
Email: cygan@sxu.edu

Ellen Deinzer
Email: deinzer@sxu.edu

Hyukse Kwon
Email: kwon@sxu.edu

Rokhak Keshavarzi
Email: keshavarzi@sxu.edu

Daniel Marfise
Email: marfise@sxu.edu

Christopher Riola
Email: riola@sxu.edu