Saint Xavier University Music Department

Music Faculty

Music Faculty

The Saint Xavier University Music Department offers quality music programs, grounded in the liberal arts tradition, which prepare music students for careers in the field of music. Please take a moment to meet our talented faculty.

Jennifer Barrett
Email: jbarrett@sxu.edu

Jennifer Barrett
Applied Voice, Mezzo-Soprano

  • M.A., Northeastern Illinois University, Vocal Pedagogy
  • B.A., North Central College, Vocal Music Education

Brett Baxter
Email: baxter@sxu.edu

Brett Baxter
Percussion

  • M.A., Northwestern University, Percussion Performance and Literature
  • B.A., University of Missouri-Kansas City, Percussion Performance

Jan Bickel
Email: bickel@sxu.edu

Jan Bickel
Vocal Faculty Emerita

  • D.M.A., American Conservatory of Music in Chicago, Vocal Performance
  • M.M., Chicago Conservatory of Music, Vocal Performance
  • B.A., St. Mary's College at Notre Dame, Music

Heather Carlasare
Email:
carlasare@sxu.edu

Heather Carlasare
Violin and Viola

  • M.M., Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, Viola
  • B.M., The Manhattan School of Music, Viola

Irene Claude
Email: claude@sxu.edu

Irene Claude
Flute

  • M.M., DePaul University
  • B.M.A., University of Michigan in Ann Arbor

Greg Coutts
Office: WAC G-102B
Phone: 773-298-3424
Email: coutts@sxu.edu

Greg Coutts
Director of Theoretical Studies
Music Department Chair

  • Ph.D., Northwestern University, Evanston, Music Theory
  • M.M., Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, Music Theory/Composition and Vocal Performance
  • B.A., West Liberty State University, Music Education

Bryan Guarnuccio
Email:
guarnuccio@sxu.edu

Bryan Guarnuccio
Aural Skills

  • D.M.A., Michigan State University
  • M.M., Bowling Green State University, Music Theory and Flute Performance
  • B.M., Ball State University, Flute Performance

Monica Kropidlowski
Email: kropidlowski@sxu.edu

Monica Kropidlowski
Piano

  • M.M., Northwestern University, Piano Performance
  • B.M., Rosary College (Dominican University), Piano Performance

Adam Larison
Email: larison@sxu.edu

Adam Larison
Music History and Guitar

  • D.M.A, Eastman School of Music, Guitar Performance and Literature
  • M.M., San Francisco Conservatory of Music, Guitar Performance
  • B.M., Florida State University, Guitar Performance
  • Performer's Diploma, Academia Musicale Chigiana

Patricia Lee
Office: WAC G-110
Phone: 773-298-3426
Email: plee@sxu.edu

Patricia Lee
Director of Keyboard Studies

  • M.M., DePaul University, Chicago, Piano Performance

Emily Mantell
Email:
mantell@sxu.edu

Emily Mantell
Cello

  • B.M., Chicago Musical College at Roosevelt University, Cello Performance

Andrew McManus
Email: mcmanus@sxu.edu

Andrew McManus
Theory and Composition

  • Ph.D., University of Chicago, Composition
  • M.A., Eastman School of Music, Composition
  • B.A., Yale University, Music (Intensive)

Stacy McMichael
Email: mcmichael@sxu.edu

Stacy McMichael
String Bass

  • M.M., University of Miami, Jazz Bass & Pedagogy
  • B.M., University of Nebraska at Omaha, Double Bass

Tom McNichols
Email: tmcnichols@sxu.edu

Tom McNichols
Director of Vocal Activities, Applied Voice

  • M.M., North Park University, Vocal Performance
  • B.M., Saint Xavier University, Vocal Performance and Music Education

Lara Regan
Email: regan@sxu.edu

Lara Regan
Clarinet and Saxophone

  • M.M., Northwestern University, Saxophone Performance
  • B.A., Saint Xavier University, Music Education and Saxophone Performance

Shawn Salmon
Office: WAC G-114
Phone: 773-298-3420
Email: salmon@sxu.edu

Shawn Salmon
Director of Jazz Studies, Guitar

  • D.A., Ball State University, Guitar Performance and Composition
  • M.M., DePaul University, Jazz Studies
  • B.A., Eastern Illinois University, Jazz Studies

Dan Sartori
Email: sartori@sxu.edu

Dan Sartori
Low Brass

  • M.M., Indiana University, Trombone Performance
  • B.M., University of Wisconsin-Madison, Music Education

Anna Siwiec-Sitkowska
Email: siwiecsitkowska@sxu.edu

Anna Siwiec-Sitkowska
Soprano

  • M.M., State University of New York at Binghamton, Opera Performance
  • M.M., Bydgoszcz Music Conservatory, Poland

Daniel Surma
Email: surma@sxu.edu

Daniel Surma
Piano

  • M.M., DePaul University, Piano Performance
  • B.M., The American Conservatory of Music, Piano Performance
  • Diploma, The Moody Bible Institute, Sacred Music, Piano

Joshua Thompson
Office: WAC G-106
Phone: 773-298-3422
Email: jkthompson@sxu.edu

Joshua Thompson
Director of Instrumental Activities, Trumpet

  • D.M.A., University of Iowa
  • B.M., Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, Instrumental Performance and Music Education

Paullette Velazquez
Email: pvelazquez@sxu.edu

Paulette Velazquez
Horn

  • M.M., San Francisco Conservatory of Music, Horn Performance
  • B.M., University of Illinois, Horn Performance