Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus College of Arts and Sciences

College of Arts and Sciences

College of Arts and Sciences

Saint Xavier University's College of Arts and Sciences provides over 80 undergraduate majors, minors and programs offered through 13 academic departments. Our programs instill a passion for lifelong learning by encouraging students to pursue a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) or Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in areas where they can develop artistic expression, communication skills, critical thinking and intellectual inquiry. Our programs provide top-quality education with online and classroom instruction from expert faculty.

Academic Departments

Department Chair Email Phone
Art and Design Nathan Peck, MFA peck@sxu.edu 773-298-3876
Biological Sciences Tatiana Tatum-Parker, Ph.D. tatum@sxu.edu 773-298-3408
Chemistry Bindhu Alappat, Ph.D. alappat@sxu.edu 773-298-3518
Communication Brad Mello, Ph.D. mello@sxu.edu 773-298-3372
Computer Science James Vanderhyde, Ph.D. vanderhyde@sxu.edu 773-298-3454
Education Julie Reinhart, Ph.D. jreinhart@sxu.edu 773-341-5030
History and Political Science Matthew Costello, Ph.D. costello@sxu.edu 773-298-3284
Language and Literature Angelo Bonadonna, Ph.D. bonadonna@sxu.edu 773-298-3236
Mathematics Arunas Dagys, D.A. dagys@sxu.edu 773-298-3396
Music Greg Coutts, Ph.D. coutts@sxu.edu 773-298-3424
Philosophy, Religious Studies and Theology Arthur Morton, Ph.D. morton@sxu.edu 773-298-3779
Psychology Timothy Ritchie, Ph.D. ritchie@sxu.edu 773-298-3759
Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice Iman Saca, Ph.D. saca@sxu.edu 773-298-3554

Academic Programs

Program Director/Coordinator Email Phone
African-American Studies Tracy Crump, Ph.D., J.D. aas@sxu.edu 773-298-3555
Digital Humanities Christine Fojtik fojtik@sxu.edu 773-298-3241
Environmental and Sustainability Studies Christopher Appelt, Ph.D. ess@sxu.edu 773-298-3391
General Education Karen Wood, D.N.Sc. wood@sxu.edu 773-298-3749
Honors Mary Beth Tegan, Ph.D. tegan@sxu.edu 773-298-3240
Latino/Latin American Studies Olga Vilella, Ph.D. vilella@sxu.edu 773-298-3274
Leadership and Public Administration Matthew Costello, Ph.D. costello@sxu.edu 773-298-3284
Middle Eastern Studies Iman Saca, Ph.D. mes@sxu.edu 773-298-3554
Political Communication and Advocacy Matthew Costello, Ph.D. costello@sxu.edu 773-298-3284
Pre-Health Tatiana Tatum-Parker, Ph.D. tatum@sxu.edu 773-298-3408
Pre-Law Matthew Costello, Ph.D. prelaw@sxu.edu 773-298-3284
Women and Gender Studies Tatiana Tatum-Parker, Ph.D. wgst@sxu.edu 773-298-3408

Financial Aid

The College of Arts and Sciences offers scholarship and grant opportunities for students pursuing nearly any major or degree. In the scholarship directory, you are able to search for scholarships based on your academic year, student type or major. Saint Xavier also provides resources for scholarships that are offered outside of the University on the Outside and Other Scholarships page. Please visit Financial Aid for more information concerning FAFSA and your financial aid eligibility.