Saint Xavier University School of Nursing

School of Nursing and Health Sciences

Meet the Nursing Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Christine Beck
Office: WAC E-332
Phone: 773-298-3737
Email: cbeck@sxu.edu

Christine Beck, CTN, PHCSN-BC, FNP-BC, APRN, MSN/M.A., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Charlene Bermele
Office: WAC E-313
Phone: 773-298-3180
Email: bermele@sxu.edu

Charlene Bermele, CNE, RN, MSN, DNP
Assistant Professor and Director of Online Programs

  • Teaching Areas: nursing
  • Concepts, older adult, clinical instruction in medical surgical nursing, community health and leadership
Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red

Office: WAC E-215
Phone: 773-298-3726
Email: bruno@sxu.edu

Caroline R. Bruno, RN, MSN, FNP
Assistant Professorial Lecturer

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray
Office: WAC E-310
Phone: 773-298-3519
Email: canerday@sxu.edu

Kelly Canerday, RN, MSN, FNP
Assistant Professorial Lecturer

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Office: WAC E-103
Phone: 773-298-3710
Email: dorau@sxu.edu

Tina Dorau, CNE, CRRN, RN, MSN
Assistant Professorial Lecturer and Director of Nursing Learning Resources

  • Teaching Areas: clinical skills and patient care management, health assessment, basic nursing skills, medical surgical nursing, rehabilitation nursing and care of the older adult, nursing simulation, online education, electronic health records and nursing informatics
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Benedictine University
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: acute inpatient rehabilitation, medical/surgical, telemetry, observation and sub-acute rehabilitation/long-term care
  • Research Interests: nursing simulation, nursing Informatics, improving student retention and success in nursing, effective leadership for nursing students, improving quality of patient care

Mary Jo Dunne

Office: WAC E-303
Phone: 773-298-3732
Email: dunne@sxu.edu

Mary Jo Dunne, RN, CFRN, MSN
Assistant Professor

  • Teaching Areas: health assessment, advanced nursing therapeutics and management of nursing practice, pathophysiology
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Loyola University of Chicago
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: acute care, critical care
  • Research Interests: The impact of altering lifestyle choices may have on cardiovascular disease risk factors.

Laura Fairclough
Office: WAC E-320
Phone: 773-298-3735
Email: fairclough@sxu.edu

Laura Fairclough, RN, MSN
Associate Professor

  • Teaching Areas: starting IVs, administering vaccinations, blood draws
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Loyola University of New Orleans
  • Clinical Expertise: adult critical care, primary care medicine, medical aesthetics
  • Research Interests: Incidence of lung cancer and other lung diseases in populations of industrial communities.

Amy Fry

Office: WAC E-206
Phone: 773-298-3750
Email: fry@sxu.edu

Amy Fry, RN, MSN
Interim Associate Dean, Health Sciences
Nursing Faculty-Continuing Track/Clinical Coordinator-Nursing Fundamentals

  • Teaching Areas: nursing therapeutics, illness management, nursing practicum, nursing management in professional nursing
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Lewis University
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: medical surgical, neurology, trauma, orthopedics, leadership and NCLEX coaching
  • Research Interests: nursing workplace environments, professionalism, faculty development, policy research

Lynda Garrison
Office: WAC E-326
Phone: 773-298-3830
Email: garrison@sxu.edu

Lynda Garrison, RN, MSN
Assistant Professor

  • Teaching Areas: patient care technician, CNA, Phlebotomy, EKG, pharmacology, leadership and adult clinical
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Saint Xavier University
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: medical/surgical, telemetry
  • Research Interests: Barriers to Education for Single Parents; The effect being in foster care has on higher education completions; Why the dynamic between seasoned nurses and nursing students/new graduate nurses is often strained.

Barbara Gawron

Office: WAC E-330
Phone: 773-298-3743
Email: gawron@sxu.edu

Barbara Gawron, RN, CNE, CHSE, DNP
Assistant Professor

  • Teaching Areas: simulation pedagogy, physical assessment, fundamental nursing, nursing psychomotor skills and health assessment
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Governors State University
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: medical/surgical, telemetry, women's health
  • Research Interests: simulation evaluation methods

Diane Heliker

Office: WAC E-214
Phone: 773-298-3722
Email: heliker@sxu.edu

Diane Heliker, RN, Ph.D.
Professor

  • Teaching Areas: gerontology, qualitative research/EBP, model of care, best practice in long-term care, hybrid and online education, blended approaches
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Loyola University-Chicago
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: gerontological nursing, long-term care, home health care
  • Research Interests: gerontology, quality of living in long-term care, dementia interdisciplinary-interprofessional-teams, Person-centered care through story sharing and other creative venues, qualitative research-hermeneutic phenomenology, descriptive phenomenology, grounded theory, mixed method

Patricia Kelly

Office: WAC E-223
Phone: 773-298-3574
Email: pkelly@sxu.edu

Patricia Kelly, RN, CNE, MSN
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Nursing

  • Teaching Areas: nursing therapeutics and illness management

Eileen McCann

Office: WAC E-301
Phone: 773-298-3718
Email: emccann@sxu.edu

Eileen McCann, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC
Associate Professor

  • Teaching Areas: advanced health assessment, family nurse practitioner (FNP) management and clinical courses, FNP role synthesis
  • Institution of Highest Degree Obtained: Rush University
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: family nurse practitioner, primary care
  • Research/Clinical Interests: evidence-based practice, access to health care, academic- community partnerships, nurse managed health centers

Larry Meneghini

Office: WAC E-327
Phone: 773-298-3243
Email: meneghini@sxu.edu

Larry Meneghini, RN, CEN, RN, MSN, DNP
Associate Professor

  • Teaching Areas: health assessment, adult medical-surgical nursing, advanced therapeutics nursing
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Governor State University
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: critical care nursing, emergency nursing and medical surgical nursing
  • Research Interests: Retaining men in schools of nursing

Teresa Miller

Office: WAC E-314
Phone: 773-298-3728
Email: tmiller@sxu.edu

Teresa Miller, RN, PCNS-BC, MSN
Accelerated BSN Coordinator and Associate Professor

  • Teaching Areas: pediatrics, community-based learning, simulation, accelerated/adult learning, professional nursing
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Saint Louis University
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: pediatric, home care/private duty
  • Research Interests: Transforming pediatric theory to clinical application and accelerated student retention and advancement

Kathleen Moran

Office: WAC E-307
Phone: 773-298-3729
Email: kmoran@sxu.edu

Kathleen Moran, RN, CHPN, MSN
Assistant Professorial Lecturer

Mary Murphy-Smith

Office: WAC E-306
Phone: 773-298-3723
Email: murphysmith@sxu.edu

Mary Murphy-Smith, IBCLC, CNM, APRN, DNP
Associate Professor

  • Teaching Areas: nursing, maternal child, women's health
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Rush University
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: childbirth, lactation, maternal/child, women's health, natural family planning
  • Research Interests: lactation, breastfeeding education, pregnancy/childbirth, postpartum depression, natural family planning

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray

Office: WAC E-213
Phone: 773-298-3418
Email: pet@sxu.edu

Megan Pet, MBA, DNP
Assistant Professor

Michele Poradzisz

Office: WAC E-208
Phone: 773-298-3730
Email: poradzisz@sxu.edu

Michele Poradzisz, RN, CNL, CNE, Ph.D.
Professor and Interim Dean

  • Teaching Areas: pharmacology, nursing research, diabetes Management, chronic illness self-management, clinical leadership including microsystem assessment, quality improvement and project management
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Research Interests: quality of life, chronic illness self-management, concept mapping, online and hybrid pedagogies

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Office: WAC E-328
Phone: 773-298-3708
Email: rabbitte@sxu.edu

Maureen Rabbitte, RN, PEL-CSN, MSN
Assistant Professor

  • Teaching Areas: women's health and public health
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: women's health, public health, adolescent health
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Rush University
  • Research Interests: adolescent health and public health

Zapure Samawi

Office: WAC E-333
Phone: 773-298-3214
Email: samawi@sxu.edu

Zepure Samawi, RN, Ph.D.
Professor, Fulbright Scholar

  • Teaching Areas: nursing care of children, nursing research and ethics, community nursing, epidemiology and mentoring
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Widener University-Chester
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: maternal and child health in nursing, health promotion and community nursing, faith community nursing
  • Research Interests: concept mapping and critical thinking skills, flipped classroom and simulation, developing study abroad courses/programs, curriculum development

Lisa Watson
Office: WAC E-322
Phone: 773-298-3736
Email: lwatson@sxu.edu

Lisa Watson, RN, MSN
Assistant Professor

  • Teaching Areas: fundamentals clinical
  • Institution Highest Degree Obtained: Lewis University
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: adult medical/surgical and cardiovascular nursing
  • Research Interests: palliative care, end of life, finance in health care, violence against medical professionals

Caroline Wilson

Office: WAC E-334
Phone: 773-298-3724
Email: cwilson@sxu.edu

Caroline Wilson, RN, FNP-BC, MSN
Assistant Professorial Lecturer and Director of FNP Program

  • Teaching Areas: older adult/gerontology, dementia, delirium, palliative care, advanced directives, management of chronic illness in the older adult, management of acute illness in the older adult, collaborative care, health assessment
  • Institute Highest Degree Obtained: Indiana University
  • Clinical Expertise/Practice Area: geriatrics, sub-acute rehabilitation, long-term care
  • Research Interests: palliative care, end-of-life care, complementary and alternative medicine, program evaluation
Karen Wood
Office: WAC E-321
Phone: 773-298-3749
Email: wood@sxu.edu

Karen Wood, RN, CCRN, CNL, D.N.Sc
Associate Professor

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray

Office: WAC E-319
Phone: 773-298-3731
Email: zic@sxu.edu  

William G. Zic, DNP, MSN, RN
Assistant Professor

Adjunct Faculty

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Email: antos@sxu.edu

Mary Antos, MSN, BSN
Adjunct Faculty

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray
Email: brahe@sxu.edu

Victoria Brahe, Ph.D., MSN, BSN
Adjunct Faculty

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Email: claywell@sxu.edu

Lora Claywell, Ph.D., CNE
Adjunct Faculty

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray
Email: lowe@sxu.edu

Gabriella Lowe, BSN, RN, MSN
Adjunct Faculty

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Red
Email: penny@sxu.edu

Cathriya Penny, DNP, FNP, ACHPN, GNP
Adjunct Faculty

Paw Print Headshot Avatar Gray
Email: vena@sxu.edu

Joseph Vena, MSN, BSN
Adjunct Faculty