Athletic Experience

Hall of Fame Coaches

bob Hallberg HeadshotBob Hallberg, Women's Basketball Coach and Athletic Director

Athletic Director and women’s basketball coach Bob Hallberg was
inducted into the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame in September.

Hallberg, 68, was one of 20 honorees of the 2012 class, which includes a list of distinguished sports figures such as former White Sox and professional football player Bo Jackson, NCAA champion University of Kentucky men’s basketball coach John Calipari, Olympic gold medalist and Chicago Bandits star Jennie Finch, former Green Bay Packer and University of Notre Dame standout Paul Hornung and former DePaul University women’s basketball standout and Comcast SportsNet reporter Sarah Kustok.

"This is a special honor for me personally and it is a great honor to be inducted alongside such an amazing class,” Hallberg said. “I have always been thrilled that my entire collegiate basketball coaching career (Saint Xavier University, Chicago State University and University of Illinois-Chicago) has been spent in the great city of Chicago, and to be recognized for my achievements by the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame is a real privilege.

“Just to be included in the same Hall of Fame with Chicago greats such as Dick Butkus, Ernie Banks, Luis Aparicio, George Halas and Bill Veeck is truly something special.”

Hallberg has 787 college victories with SXU men’s and women’s teams, Chicago State and UIC.

Tom O'Malley HeadshotTom O'Malley, Men's Basketball Coach

Men’s basketball coach Tom O’Malley entered the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame in September for his distinguished high school and collegiate coaching career on the South Side of Chicago.

O’Malley was one of 20 honorees inducted into the 2011 class, including some nationally recognized names in former NFL running back Barry Sanders, Chicago Blackhawks Hall of Famer Bobby Hull, NCAA-champion University of Connecticut men’s basketball coach Jim Calhoun and former NBA player and current Boston Celtics head coach Glenn “Doc” Rivers.

“I feel very humble and privileged to be honored with an induction into the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame,” said O’Malley. “I have always felt that sports have been a great part of my life and have introduced me to so many wonderful people. It is truly exciting to be honored with so many great players and coaches. My life has been blessed with faith, family and friends, and this honor is a highlight of a long and wonderful life in both Chicago and sports.”

Additional inductees for the class of 2011 include: Dave Casper (University of Notre Dame All-American and former NFL player), Rocky Bleier (former University of Notre Dame and NFL player), Howard Griffith (University of Illinois All-American and former NFL player), Paul Flatley (Northwestern University Academic All-American and former NFL player), Milt Pappas (former Chicago Cubs player, 17-year MLB career), Mabel Landry Staton (former DePaul University and Olympic track and field standout), Steve Zucker (athlete representation, philanthropist) and Pierre Pilote (former Chicago Blackhawk and Hall of Famer).

The remaining honorees are: Mickey Pruitt (former Robeson High School and Chicago Bears player), Jack Rosenberg (longtime WGN sports editor and winner of the inaugural Jack Brickhouse Media Award), John Holecek (former University of Illinois and NFL player), Frank Strocchia (Big Ten Conference football official), Therese Boyle-Niego (former volleyball standout at Mother McAuley High School and former coach at Loyola University), Tom Winiecki (longtime football coach at Gordon Tech High School) and the late Mike Rabold (former Fenwick High School standout and Chicago Bears player).