Saint Xavier University
#CallingAllDoers #WeAreSXU
SXU News - Saint Xavier University News

SXU Honors Students, Faculty and Staff at Seventh Annual African American Achievement Awards


Saint Xavier University (SXU) recently held the seventh annual African American Achievement Awards, which recognize the contributions and achievements of African American students, faculty and staff at Saint Xavier, all of whom demonstrate exceptional strength, brilliance and resilience. To comply with local and state COVID-19 guidelines and to ensure the safety of the Saint Xavier community, the event was held virtually this year.

The awards were presented by faculty, staff and students of the Saint Xavier community, and award recipients were treated by special congratulatory cameos by celebrities, including actors Alfonso Ribeiro and Anthony Anderson and professional basketball player Lisa Leslie.

"Though this is a time of uncertainty, we choose to celebrate with positivity," said host Lisa Lyons, academic resources advisor. "I am pleased to congratulate all of our award recipients and encourage them to continue to excel and make a difference in our world."

2021 African American Achievement Award Recipients:

The Freshman MVP Award is given to two first-year students who have gone above and beyond in their leadership and campus involvement.

Award Recipients: Correy Crump and Beyonce Mitchem-Nash

The Sophomore MVP Award recognizes two outstanding sophomores who have demonstrated exceptional leadership involvement within their organization, on campus and in their communities.

Award Recipients: Corrie Floyd and Gillian Clottey

The Junior MVP Award honors two junior students who are dedicated to service and leadership on and off campus.

Award Recipients: Rachel Mensah and Jazmine Jean Simon

The Senior MVP Award commends two outstanding seniors for their incredible leadership on campus and within their communities.

Award Recipients: Marcus Henry and Henrietta McDonald

The Graduate MVP Award recognizes two graduate students who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and involvement on and off campus.

Award Recipients: Tiffany Bell and Marquita Wallace

The Outstanding Student Leader Award honors two individuals who have made significant, valuable contributions to campus through their positions of leadership.

Award Recipients: Kyla Turner and Henrietta McDonald

The Outstanding Student-Athlete Award is given to a student-athlete who makes contributions through leadership both on and off the field.

Award Recipient: Jarvis Carter

The Outstanding Staff Award recognizes two invaluable staff members who offer support and guidance to the Saint Xavier community through exceptional leadership.  

Award Recipients: Alison Chandler and D'Andre Slaughter

The Outstanding Faculty Award honors two faculty members who give back to the Saint Xavier community through their knowledge and expertise.

Award Recipients: Tracy Crump, Ph.D. and Brian Hill, Ed.D.

The Michael Clark Service Award was created in honor of the late history and political science professor Michael Clark, Ph.D. Clark was committed to the University and inspired others by standing firm in his beliefs. The award was established to honor faculty, staff and students in recognition of great achievements in service to the SXU community. 

Award Recipient: Tracy Crump, Ph.D.

Saint Xavier is immensely proud of the award recipients and their outstanding contributions to the University community and looks forward to watching them continue to thrive and inspire.