Saint Xavier University
#CallingAllDoers #WeAreSXU
SXU News - Saint Xavier University News

SXU Honors Faculty, Staff and Students at 10th Annual African American Achievement Awards


In March, Saint Xavier University (SXU) honored faculty, staff and students at the 10th Annual African American Achievement Awards, which recognize the contributions and achievements of the African American community at SXU, whose dedication to academics, service, athletics, and excellence was highlighted throughout the ceremony.  

"This academic year marks the 10-year anniversary of the African American Achievement Awards, which is very exciting. In the last decade, we have honored more than 100 students for their academic and leadership accomplishments as well as faculty and staff for their commitment to service. It is a wonderful opportunity for families to share in the celebration of their students' success," said Jacqueline Griffin, associate director of Financial Aid.  

Students, faculty, staff and their families came together in the Butler Reception Room to celebrate and uplift one another. The event also featured a spoken word performance and several musical numbers.  

2024 African American Achievement Award Recipients  

The Freshman MVP Award is given to two first-year students who have gone above and beyond in their leadership and campus involvement. 

Award Recipients: Faruq Sulaimon and Winter Moore 

The Sophomore MVP Award recognizes two outstanding sophomores who have demonstrated exceptional leadership involvement within their organization, on campus and in their communities. 

Award Recipients: Dustin Pettis and Aniya Travis 

The Junior MVP Award honors two junior students who are dedicated to service and leadership on and off campus. 

Award Recipients: Johnnetta Washington and Gavin Dudley  

The Senior MVP Award commends two outstanding seniors for their incredible leadership on campus and within their communities. 

Award Recipients: Malik Coleman and Aryss Anderson 

The Graduate MVP Award recognizes two graduate students who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and involvement on and off campus. 

Award Recipients: Moses Holley and John Ford  

The Outstanding Student Leader Award honors two individuals who have made significant, valuable contributions to campus through their positions of leadership. 

Award Recipients: Johnniya Shannon and Taylor McDonald 

The Outstanding Student-Athlete Award is given to a student-athlete who makes contributions through leadership both on and off the field. 

Award Recipients: Gavin Dudley and Van Williams 

The Distinguished Artist Award is presented to two individuals who have with outstanding creative abilities who celebrate their culture through their work.  

Award Recipients: Azaria Reynolds and Angelena Clayton  

The Outstanding Staff Award recognizes two invaluable staff members who offer support and guidance to the Saint Xavier community through exceptional leadership.   

Award Recipients: ChrisTina Edwards and Ken Alston  

The Outstanding Faculty Award honors a faculty member who gives back to the Saint Xavier community through their knowledge and expertise. 

Award Recipients: Brian Hill, Ed.D. 

The Michael Clark Service Award was created in honor of the late history and political science professor Michael Clark, Ph.D. Clark was committed to the University and inspired others by standing firm in his beliefs. The award was established to honor faculty, staff and students in recognition of great achievements in service to the SXU community.  

Award Recipient: Natalie Page, Ed.D.  

Saint Xavier is immensely proud of the award recipients and their outstanding contributions to the University community and looks forward to watching them continue to thrive and inspire future generations of students.