Skip to main contentSkip to main navigationSkip to footer content
Saint Xavier University Chicago Campus Residence Halls

University History

Saint Xavier University is a comprehensive, coeducational, Catholic institution sponsored by the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas through the Conference for Mercy Higher Education. Founded by the Sisters of Mercy in 1846 and chartered in 1847, Saint Xavier's historic roots make it Chicago's oldest college, one of the first institutions of higher learning in Illinois as well as the first Mercy institution of higher learning in the world.

Founded as Saint Francis Xavier Academy for Females, Saint Xavier inaugurated college classes in 1915, became co-educational in 1969 and gained the status of a university in 1992.

The University currently serves a diverse population of students through a selection of undergraduate and graduate programs offered through the College of Liberal Arts and Education and the College of Nursing, Health Sciences and Business.