Skip to main contentSkip to main navigationSkip to footer content

Award for Faculty Service


The Saint Xavier University Award recognizes a faculty member who, through teaching, scholarship, and service has furthered the mission of Saint Xavier University both within SXU and to the larger academic, civic and religious communities and who has consistently embodied the University's Catholic and Mercy identity by "serving wisely and compassionately in support of human dignity and the common good." The award will be presented on Mission Day.


Candidates must be full-time, or portion of full-time faculty members at Saint Xavier University.


  • Recognizes the uniqueness of a faith based institution of higher education and values and promotes "dialogue between faith and reason."
  • Makes a significant contribution to teaching
  • Addresses substantive issues in the civic or faith communities
  • Fosters positive relationships among Saint Xavier, the broader academic world, and the community at large
  • Contributes to ongoing university commitments to service for others, reflecting the spirituality of Sisters of Mercy Foundress Catherine McAuley and the social justice tradition of the Church.

Who May Nominate

Nominations are encouraged from faculty peers, staff and students. Potential candidates may nominate themselves.


  • Fill out the nomination form.
  • Please submit nominations to the Office for Mission and Heritage, Mercy Ministry Center, Front Desk.
  • The selection committee reviews all nominations and submits a recommendation to the University president for a final decision.

Previous Recipients

Year Recipient
2024 Carry E. Zaras, M.S.
2023 Nipah Onkananuwonk, M.S.
Cindy Grobmeier, M.A.
2021 Kathleen Alaimo, Ph.D.
2020 Bindhu Alappat, Ph.D.
2019 Zepure Samawi, RN, Ph.D.
2018 Karen Benjamin, Ph.D.
Peter Kirstein, Ph.D.
2017 Gina Rossetti, Ph.D.
2016 Karen Wood, Ph.D.
2015 Kathleen McInerney, Ph.D.
2014 Arunas Dagys, D.A.
2013 Peter Hilton, Ph.D.
2012 William Kresse, J.D.
2011 Judith Hiltner, Ph.D.
2010 Michael O'Keeffe, Ph.D.
2008-2009 Margaret Bogacz, D.A.
2007 Michael Flahive, Ph.D.
2006 Jan Bickel, D.M.A.
2005 Eileen Quinn Knight, Ph.D.
2004 Monzurul Hoque, Ph.D.
2003 Sandra Burkhardt, Ph.D.
2002 Gail Harris-Schmidt, Ph.D.
2001 Dale Fast, Ph.D.
2000 Angelo Bonadonna, Ph.D.
1999 Stanley Boyer, Ph.D.
1998 Julie McNellis, Ph.D.
1997 Joan L. Klein, R.N., M.S.
1996 Avis Clendenen, D.Min., Ph.D.
1995 Nancy Goodfellow, M.S.
1994 Sister M. Dominic Merwick, R.S.M., M.A.
1993 JoAnn Gruca, R.N., Ph.D.
1992 Mary Lederer Roby, Ph.D.
1991 Sister Marion Johnson, R.S.M., M.S.
1990 Darlene O'Callaghan, R.N., M.S.N.
1989 Margaret K. Carroll, Ed.D.
1988 Faisal Rahman, Ph.D.
1987 Joanne Fleming, M.S.
1986 Dorothy M. Binder, Ph.D.
1985 Mary Lebold, R.N., Ed.D.
1984 Sister M. Denis O'Grady, R.S.M., Ph.D.
1983 Hassan Haddad, Ph.D.
1982 Sister M. Antonine Ludden, R.S.M.
1981 Lois Neville, M.A.