Mission Day

Award for Faculty Service

The Saint Xavier University Award recognizes a faculty member who, through teaching, scholarship, and service has furthered the mission of Saint Xavier University both within SXU and to the larger academic, civic and religious communities and who has consistently embodied the University's Catholic and Mercy identity by "serving wisely and compassionately in support of human dignity and the common good." The award will be presented on Mission Day on Wednesday, March 25, 2020 at 3:30 p.m. in the Butler Reception Room.


Candidates must be full-time, or portion of full-time faculty members at Saint Xavier University.


Who May Nominate

Nominations are encouraged from faculty peers, staff and students. Potential candidates may nominate themselves.


Previous Recipients

Year Recipient Year Recipient
2019 Zepure Samawi, RN, Ph.D. 1999 Stanley Boyer, Ph.D.
2018 Karen Benjamin, Ph.D.
Peter Kirstein, Ph.D.
1998 Julie McNellis, Ph.D.
2017 Gina Rossetti, Ph.D. 1997 Joan L. Klein, R.N., M.S.
2016 Karen Wood, Ph.D. 1996 Avis Clendenen, D.Min., Ph.D.
2015 Kathleen McInerney, Ph.D. 1995 Nancy Goodfellow, M.S.
2014 Arunas Dagys, D.A. 1994 Sister M. Dominic Merwick, R.S.M., M.A.
2013 Peter Hilton, Ph.D. 1993 JoAnn Gruca, R.N., Ph.D.
2012 William Kresse, J.D. 1992 Mary Lederer Roby, Ph.D.
2011 Judith Hiltner, Ph.D. 1991 Sister Marion Johnson, R.S.M., M.S.
2010 Michael O'Keeffe, Ph.D. 1990 Darlene O'Callaghan, R.N., M.S.N.
2008-2009 Margaret Bogacz, D.A. 1989 Margaret K. Carroll, Ed.D.
2007 Michael Flahive, Ph.D. 1988 Faisal Rahman, Ph.D.
2006 Jan Bickel, D.M.A. 1987 Joanne Fleming, M.S.
2005 Eileen Quinn Knight, Ph.D. 1986 Dorothy M. Binder, Ph.D.
2004 Monzurul Hoque, Ph.D. 1985 Mary Lebold, R.N., Ed.D.
2003 Sandra Burkhardt, Ph.D. 1984 Sister M. Denis O'Grady, R.S.M., Ph.D.
2002 Gail Harris-Schmidt, Ph.D. 1983 Hassan Haddad, Ph.D.
2001 Dale Fast, Ph.D. 1982 Sister M. Antonine Ludden, R.S.M.
2000 Angelo Bonadonna, Ph.D. 1981 Lois Neville, M.A.